You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Māori v Indigenous All Stars Women: Cassidy to start; Taylor set for debut

The Māori All Stars will be looking to make amends against their Indigenous counterparts in the fifth instalment of the women's Harvey Norman All Stars in Rotorua on Saturday afternoon.

Less than three months since the World Cup finished for many of these athletes, rugby league is back on the calendar with several stars set to take the field at Rotorua International Stadium.

The Indigenous All Stars beat the Maori All Stars 18-8 at CommBank Stadium last year and in the other fixtures previously it's been the story of bounce backs with the head-to-head battle reading W-L-W-L between the teams since 2019. 

With plenty of NRLW talent on show and a strong cultural presence in the lead-up and during the match, there's no better way to kick off a busy 2023 calendar for the women's game.

The Rundown

Team news

Maori All Stars: Back-rower Tiana Raftstrand-Smith rolled her ankle at training on Wednesday morning but will play. Raftsrand-Smith has been shifted to the bench on game day with Kahu Cassidy promoted to the starting side. Raftstrand-Smith is one of only four players named to return to the side following last year's defeat, although some of those selections were forced with stars Botille Vette-Welsh (knee), Corban Baxter (pregnancy) and Raecene McGregor (knee) all unavailable. Kennedy Cherrington was named in the squad originally but suffered a broken hand playing in the Harvey Norman NSW Premiership last week and has also withdrawn. Shanice Parker, Zali Fay, Capri Paekau and Harata Butler are all back after representing the team previously, while as many as nine could debut including NRLW stars Gayle Broughton and Destiny Brill.

Indigenous All Stars: The Indigenous side will line up 1-18 with no late changes on game day. The visitors suffered a triple blow in the lead-up with prominent NRLW figures Tamika Upton, Caitlan Johnston and Tallisha Harden all withdrawing from the game. That opens the door for Shakiah Tungai to continue her return to the top level while Indigenous All Stars coach Ben Jeffries will blood six debutantes including teen sensation Jada Taylor. Jillaroos star Jaime Chapman will replace Upton at fullback while Quincy Dodd will captain the side.

Team Lists


  • Fullback for Maori is number 1 Gayle Broughton
    Fullback for Indigenous is number 1 Jaime Chapman
  • Winger for Maori is number 2 Jasmin Strange
    Winger for Indigenous is number 2 Bobbi Law
  • Centre for Maori is number 3 Amy Turner
    Centre for Indigenous is number 3 Mia Middleton
  • Centre for Maori is number 4 Shanice Parker
    Centre for Indigenous is number 4 Jasmine Peters
  • Winger for Maori is number 5 Zali Fay
    Winger for Indigenous is number 5 Jada Taylor
  • Five-Eighth for Maori is number 6 Zahara Temara
    Five-Eighth for Indigenous is number 6 Kirra Dibb
  • Halfback for Maori is number 7 Ashleigh Quinlan
    Halfback for Indigenous is number 7 Tahlulah Tillett


  • Prop for Maori is number 8 Shannon Mato
    Prop for Indigenous is number 8 Keilee Joseph
  • Hooker for Maori is number 9 Brooke Anderson
    Hooker for Indigenous is number 9 Quincy Dodd
  • Prop for Maori is number 10 Mya Hill-Moana
    Prop for Indigenous is number 10 Sareka Mooka
  • 2nd Row for Maori is number 12 Olivia Kernick
    2nd Row for Indigenous is number 11 Kaitlyn Phillips
  • 2nd Row for Maori is number 18 Kahu Cassidy
    2nd Row for Indigenous is number 12 Shaylee Bent
  • Lock for Maori is number 13 Destiny Brill
    Lock for Indigenous is number 13 Shaniah Power


  • Interchange for Maori is number 14 Capri Paekau
    Interchange for Indigenous is number 14 Taliah Fuimaono
  • Interchange for Maori is number 15 Harata Butler
    Interchange for Indigenous is number 15 Ahlivia Ingram
  • Interchange for Maori is number 16 Laikha Clarke
    Interchange for Indigenous is number 16 Shakiah Tungai
  • Interchange for Maori is number 17 Aaliyah Paki
    Interchange for Indigenous is number 17 Essay Banu


  • Reserve for Maori is number 11 Tiana Raftstrand-Smith
    Reserve for Indigenous is number 18 Bree Chester

Match Officials

  • Senior Review Official: Adam Gee

Last updated:

Key match-up

Shannon Mato v Keilee Joseph: There are some crucial match-ups across the park that will dictate the game, particularly with several influential players missing compared to last season. Whoever wins the forward battle should win the match. The Indigenous side stood up last year in the middle but without Caitlan Johnston it will be a tougher task. They'll turn to Keilee Joseph, who had an outstanding 2022 campaign, to lead from the front. On the opposite side is Jillaroos teammate Shannon Mato, who ran for over 200 metres in the corresponding game last year. Along with Mya Hill-Moana, the pair will set an imposing challenge up front. 

Stat attack

The Māori side won in most key stat areas during the corresponding clash last year but lost the key moments and therefore the game, including an intercept try to Jaime Chapman against the run of play. They had more possession, run metres, made fewer errors and conceded fewer penalties but were beaten on desire. With unlimited interchange available, the Indigenous side also had their forwards rotating more often with 15 used compared to the Māori side's nine.