You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Tyson Frizell claims 2022 Danny Buderus Medal

nib Newcastle Knights second-rower Tyson Frizell has taken out the prestigious Danny Buderus Medal for the Knights Player of the Year, in recognition of a tireless 2022 National Rugby League season.

The ultra-reliable Frizell led from the front in each of his 21 matches this season, captaining the side on five occasions during the year.

It’s the 30-year-old’s first Danny Buderus Medal in his second season with the Club.

“Every time you turn up to training, you turn up to games you want to be the best version of yourself," Frizell said.

“From the day I turned up here, I’m forever grateful to the town for accepting me…it does feel like a little country town that takes care of you. You take a lot of responsibility when you take the field...You’re playing for the town."

"Danny is such a legend of this club and he's done it for such a long time. He's paved the way for all of us boys playing today. To get an award named after him is special."

"It is an honour," Frizell said. 

The 2022 Awards Night, held at NEX in Newcastle, also saw a host of other awards winners announced.

Prop David Klemmer was named Knights NRL Player’s Player, in recognition of a year in which he featured in 18 matches and ran for an average of 155 metres a game.

Backrower Leo Thompson was rewarded for a breakout first season in the NRL being named Rookie of the Year, while dynamic winger Dominic Young claimed two awards on the night.

The 21-year-old Englishman was awarded the Knight In Shining Armour Award, named for the stand-out moment of the year, his match-defining chase down of Bulldogs speedster Josh Addo-Carr in the round 10 win at Magic Round. He also took out the Gladiator Award, chosen by the Once a Knight Old Boys.

Hooker Jayden Brailey was recognised for his off-field efforts taking out the Knights Community Player of the year, while NSW Cup Hooker Luke Huth won both the New South Wales Cup Player of the Year and Player’s Player awards.

The evening also included formal recognition of 2022 NRL and Club debutants, representative players, and departing players, which include Mitchell Barnett, Edrick Lee, Pasami Saulo, Tex Hoy, Jirah Momoisea, Sauaso Sue, Brayden Musgrove and Anthony Milford.


Player of the Year (Danny Buderus Medal) – Tyson Frizell

NRL Players' Player - David Klemmer

Rookie of the Year - Leo Thompson

Community Player of the Year – Jayden Brailey

Knight in Shining Armour - Dominic Young

Gladiator of the Year - Dominic Young

NSW Cup Players' Player - Luke Huth

NSW Cup Player of the Year - Luke Huth


NRL Debut Players - Leo Thompson, Krystian Mapapalangi and Oryn Keeley

NRL Milestones - Tyson Frizell 200 NRL games, Anthony Milford 200 NRL games, Kurt Mann 150 NRL games, Jayden Brailey 100 NRL games, Jacob Saifiti 100 NRL & Knights games

Departing Players/Staff - Anthony Milford (Dolphins), Edrick Lee (Dolphins), Jirah Momoisea (Parramatta Eels), Mitch Barnett (New Zealand Warriors), Sauaso Sue (Hull KR), Tex Hoy (Hull FC), Brayden Musgrove, Pasami Saulo (Canberra Raiders) and Willie Peters (Hull KR – Head Coach).