You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Full list of award winners at Danny Buderus medal 2021

The 2021 Awards Evening has officially etched new names into the nib Newcastle Knights history books.

Jacob Saifiti claimed the top gong, taking home the Danny Buderus Medal as the Club's Player of the Year.

The evening also included a formal recognition of the Club's departing players, with Josh King, Connor Watson and Gehamat Shibasaki confirmed to be exiting the playing the Club, while retired five-eighth Blake Green was also acknowledged.

The event was held virtually for the first time ever, with an intimate ceremony taking place inside the Sunshine Coast Hub on Tuesday evening which was live streamed to the general public.

Read on for the full list of award winners:


McDonald Jones Homes Rookie of the Year – Brodie Jones

Once a Knight Old Boys Gladiator of the Year – Jayden Brailey

nib Community Player of the Year – Josh King

Excalibur Club Players' Player of the Year – Connor Watson

Club Person of the Year – Mathew Morris & Jane Farrell

Knight in Shining Armour - Mitchell Pearce

Player of the Year (Danny Buderus Medal) – Jacob Saifiti


Excalibur Club Players' Player - Mat Croker & Luke Huth

Red Energy Player of the Year - Zac Hosking


Steve Simpson - 217 Knights Games

Jarrod Mullen - 211 Knights Games


Dr Neil Halpin


NRL Debut Players - Dominic Young, Brayden Musgrove, Simi Sasagi, Mat Croker & Jirah Momoisea

NRL Milestones - David Klemmer - 50 Knights games, Kurt Mann - 50 Knights games, Jake Clifford - 50 NRL games, Hymel Hunt - 50 Knights games & 100 NRL games, Connor Watson - 50 Knights games & 100 NRL games, Daniel Saifiti - 100 Knights & NRL games, Mitch Barnett - 100 NRL & Knights games, Sauaso Sue - 150 NRL games, Mitchell Pearce - 300 NRL games

Depating Players - Blake Green (retired), Gehamat Shibasaki (Japanese Rugby), Connor Watson (Sydney Roosters), Josh King (Melbourne Storm)