You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Cowboys-Broncos grand final voted best of modern era

The fans have had their say and the 2015 grand final clash between the Cowboys and Broncos has been voted the best since 1990.

Just over 50 per cent of the respondents on thought the last-minute try scored by Kyle Feldt and Johnathan Thurston's conversion attempt that hit the post and then his golden point field goal was worthy of top spot.

The 1997 classic between Newcastle and Manly and the drought-breaking win enjoyed by South Sydney in 2014 rounded out the top three. this year launched the search for the Simply The Best players from 1990 to now, to commemorate the 30th anniversary of the iconic Tina Turner promotional campaign, which was again featured in this year's advertisement for the Telstra Premiership, and has been calling on the fans to have their say on a range of topics on the modern era.

Best grand final

Sorry, something went wrong. Please try again later.

Top 10 - grand finals (1990-2020)

1991 - Panthers v Raiders

After losing to Canberra a year earlier, the Panthers won the club's first premiership. Club great Royce Simmons scored twice and Brad Izzard also crossed in a win over the Raiders side that included the likes of Mengina, Daley, Stuart, Clyde, Lazarus and Steve Walters. Penrith were also no slouches in the talent department with Brad Fittler, Greg Alexander and Mark Geyer on the team sheet.

1997 - Knights v Sea Eagles

Manly fans aside, the sight of Darren Albert crossing for that match-winning try was a much-needed boost to a game that had gone through a lot during the Super League war. The Knights looked down and out before Andrew Johns set off and allowed Albert to make history.

Match Highlights: Knights v Sea Eagles

1999 - Storm v Dragons

Drama galore and the birth of a Melbourne Storm machine that is still looking as powerful as ever. When Anthony Mundine dropped the ball over the line the door was opened, and the Storm didn't need a second invitation. Brett Kimmorley, Glenn Lazarus, Stephen Kearney and Tawera Nikau were in the Melbourne team. Oh yeah, Craig Smith also had a bit to say in the final result.

Match Highlights: Storm v Dragons

2001 - Knights v Eels

After a great season, many thought the Eels were certainties to end a 15-year title drought. Problem is, a few Eels players may have also been thinking that. The Knights started brilliantly and the game was theirs. Twenty years later, the Eels are still waiting for their first premiership since 1986.

Match Highlights: Knights v Eels

2003 - Panthers v Roosters

The Panthers were back in another decider and this time it was a starring performance from Luke Priddis and a tackle for the ages from Scott Sattler sent Penrith on the road to their second premiership. Test winger Luke Rooney bagged a double in a memorable night for Penrith fans.

Match Highlights: Panthers v Roosters

2004 - Bulldogs v Roosters

A great era for the Roosters (four grand finals in five years) ended with another grand final defeat. The Roosters led 13-6 at halftime before Matt Utai and Hazem El Masri scored second-half tries. Willie Mason was a deserved winner of the Clive Churchill Medal.

Match Highlights: Roosters v Bulldogs

2005 - Wests Tigers v Cowboys

We've seen that Benji Marshall flick pass 1000 times but unless we are North Queensland fans we still can't get enough of it. The joint venture club led by just six points with 17 minutes remaining before Daniel Fitzhenry scored a decisive four-pointer.

Match Highlights: Wests Tigers v Cowboys

2014 - Rabbitohs v Bulldogs

Forty-three years of waiting ended for the Rabbitohs with a decisive win over Canterbury. Scores were locked at 6-6 before South Sydney scored four tries in the final 24 minutes. Sam Burgess fought off a broken cheekbone to win the Clive Churchill Medal.

Match Highlights: Rabbitohs v Bulldogs

2015 - Cowboys v Broncos

Some Michael Morgan magic set up a game-tying try for Kyle Feldt. Johnathan Thurston then took centre stage for some of the tensest moments in grand final history. A conversion attempt that would have won the match in regular time hit the post before a field goal early in golden point extra-time got the job done. One that got away for the Broncos.

Match Highlights: Broncos v Cowboys

2016 - Sharks v Storm

The Sharks won the club's first title after a thrilling 80-minute battle against the Storm. He didn't win the Clive Churchill Medal but Andrew Fifita ran for 201m and scored a crucial try. Cameron Smith made an incredible 73 tackles in a losing effort.

Match Highlights: Storm v Sharks