You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The quarter finals of the Rugby League World Cup are here, with a number of mouthwatering match-ups set to be played over the weekend.

It’s all sudden death from here, with Danny Levi, Jacob Saifiti and Herman Ese’ese all named in their countries’ 17 and Chris Heighington 18th man for England.

Date: Friday November 17
Kick-off: 7pm local, 8.30pm AEDT
Venue: Darwin Stadium

Despite not actually winning a game in the group stage, Samoa are up against the Kangaroos this Friday thanks to a superior points difference to Scotland.

Australia have been impressive without really hitting top gear so far in this tournament, and Samoa will need to kick into gear quickly if they want to match it with the Kangaroos.

Ese’ese is set to make his third start of the tournament at prop after playing the first game from the bench.

The Newcastle-bound prop has been one of Samoa’s better forwards so far, averaging 108 metres a game and making seven tackle breaks.


1. Billy Slater, 2. Dane Gagai, 3. Will Chambers, 4. Josh Dugan, 5. Valentine Holmes, 6. Michael Morgan, 7. Cooper Cronk, 8. Aaron Woods, 9. Cameron Smith, 10. David Klemmer, 11. Boyd Cordner, 12. Michael Gillett, 13. Josh McGuire, 14. Wade Graham, 15. Jordan McLean, 16. Reagan Campbell-Gillard, 17. Tyson Frizell, 18. Felise Kaufusi, 19. Cameron Munster, 20. James Maloney, 21. Ben Hunt.

1. Young Tonumaipea, 2. Matthew Wright, 3. Ricky Leutele, 4. Joseph Leilua, 5. Timoteo Lafai, 6. Jarome Luai, 7. Ben Roberts, 8. Junior Paulo, 9. Jazz Tevaga, 10. Herman Ese’ese, 11. Joshua Papalii, 12. Frank Pritchard, 13. Leeson Ah Mau, 14. Fa’amanu Brown, 15. Bunty Afoa, 16. Suaia Matagi, 17. Joseph Paulo, 18. Zane Musgrove, 19. Frank Winterstein, 20. Pita Godinet, 21. Ken Maumalo.

Date: Saturday November 18
Kick-off: 7.30pm local, 5.30pm AEDT
Venue: Wellington Regional Stadium

This game will be an interesting one for Knights fans, as Danny Levi comes up against Jacob Saifiti.

Levi will be thrilled to make his first start for the Kiwis after impressing in the group stages, while Saifiti has overcome a minor injury picked up last week to again play from the bench.

Fiji have been one of the form sides of the competition so far, scoring 168 points in their three matches.

New Zealand also got off to a strong start, until a couple of crucial errors saw them beaten by Tonga last week.

While on paper it looks like New Zealand has the stronger team, the national pride and flair of the Fijians has taken them a long way so far and they will undoubtedly give the home side a tight match.

New Zealand

1. Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, 2. Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, 3. Dean Whare, 4. Brad Takairangi, 5. Jordan Rapana, 6. Te Maire Martin, 7. Shaun Johnson, 8. Martin Taupau, 9. Danny Levi, 10. Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, 11. Simon Mannering, 12. Joseph Tapine, 13. Adam Blair, 14. Nelson Asofa-Solomona, 15. Russell Packer, 16. Isaac Liu, 17. Kodi Nikorima, 18. Kenny Bromwich, 19. Jason Nightingale, 20. Peta Hiku, 21. Addin Fonua-Blake.

1. Kevin Naiqama, 2. Suliasi Vunivalu, 3. Taane Milne, 4. Akuila Uate, 5. Marcelo Montoya, 6 Jarryd Hayne, 7 Henry Raiwalui, 8 Ashton Sims, 9 Apisai Koroisau, 10 Eloni Vunakece, 11. Viliame Kikau, 12. Brayden Wiliame, 13. Tui Kamikamica, 14. Joe Lovodua, 15. Jacob Saifiti, 16. Junior Roqica, 17. Petero Benjamin Nakubuwai, 18. James Storer, 19. Salesi Faingaa, 20. Sitiveni Moceidreke, 21. Pio Sokobalavu.

Date: Sunday November 19
Kick-off: 4pm AEDT
Venue: Melbourne Rectangular Stadium

Despite winning two of their three games so far, England haven’t quite hit their straps in this World Cup yet.

They’re going to have to be at their best to beat Papua New Guinea in the quarter finals though, who have averaged 42 points per game so far and only conceded a total of 12.

After playing from the bench in England’s first two matches, Chris Heighington was named on the extended bench last week and is in the number 18 jersey again this time around.


1. Gareth Widdop, 2. Jermaine Mcgillvary, 3. Kallum Watkins, 4. John Bateman, 5. Ryan hall, 6. Kevin Brown, 7. Luke Gale, 8. Chris Hill, 9. Josh Hodgson, 10. James Graham, 11. Sam Burgess, 12. Elliott Whitehead, 13. Sean O’Loughlin, 14. Alex Walsmley, 15. Thomas Burgess, 16. Ben Currie, 17. James Roby, 18. Chris Heighington, 19. Mark Percival, 20. Stefan Ratchford, 21. George Williams.

Papua New Guinea

1. David Mead, 2. Justin Olam, 3. Kato Ottio, 4. Nene Macdonald, 5. Garry Lo, 6. Ase Boas, 7. Watson Boas, 8. Moses Meninga, 9. James Segeyaro, 10. Luke Page, 11. Rhyse Martin, 12. Willie Minoga, 12. Paul Aiton, 14. Kurt Baptiste, 15. Stargroth Amean, 16. Stanton Albert, 17. Rod Griffin, 18. Enock Maki, 19. Wartovo Puara, 20. Thompson Tetehe, 21. Lachlan Lam.