You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The NYC Newcastle Knights defeated the Wests Tigers 28-18 at McDonald Jones Stadium on Voice for Mining Family Day.

The Knights soaked up plenty of pressure in defence early on, but a hat-trick from centre Heath Gibbs helped the young Knights claim victory.

The Knights put down their first points in the 13th minute, as Kurtis Dark threw a brilliant cut-out pass to winger Mitch Andrews to glide over untouched. Kainoa Gudgoen made the conversion for the Knights to lead 6-0.

Five minutes later, Heath Gibbs barged over for the Knights before the visitors got their first in the 25th minute, forward Alex Seyfarth crashing his way through a wall of red and blue.

The 2017 SG Ball Player of the Year Matthew Croker got into the action as he stormed across the line to stretch the lead to 14-6 after 34 minutes.

Just before the half time siren Gibbs took his second after shrugging off defenders to dive over in the right corner. The Knights led 18-6 at the break.

In the second half, solid defence from the Knights saved a try in the middle as the ball was held up.

The Tigers got first points of the second half, via Liam Pakau, who broke loose on the left side to run through for the try and close the gap to 18-12.

In the 65th minute, the Tigers got their third try through centre Peter Pakoti. A successful conversion levelled the score 18-all.

The Knights replied quickly, Gibbs recording a hat-trick off a handy grubber from captain Tom Starling. The Knights regained the lead 22-18.

In the final five minutes, Andrews recorded his double, with a near-length of the field try to secure the win 28-18.


Newcastle Knights 28 (T: Andrews 2, Gibbs 3, Croker, G: Gudgeon 2/6)
Wests Tigers 18 (T: Seyfarth, Pakau, Pakoti, G: Tautaiolefua 3/3)


1. Matt Cooper, 2. Mitch Andrews, 19. Kyle Smith, 4. Heath Gibbs, 5. Kainoa Gudgeon, 6. Kurtis Dark, 7. Hayden Loughrey, 8. Cameron King, 9. Tom Starling, 10. Pasami Saulo, 11. Jack Johns, 12. Sam McIntyre, 13. Zac Hosking. Interchange: 14. Nash Birch, 15. Henry Penn, 16. Matt Croker, 17. Jayden Butterfield.