You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
2017 Auckland 9s.

The nib Newcastle Knights have named a 22-man squad for Saturday’s final trial match of the pre-season against the Canberra Raiders in Queanbeyan.

Four players will be making their first 13-a-side appearance for the Club with Jamie Buhrer, Josh Starling and Ken Sio named to start, while 19-year-old Sam Stone sits on an extended bench.

Dane Gagai and Sione Mata’utia will back-up from last Friday’s NRL All Stars match at McDonald Jones Stadium, and 21-year-old Dylan Phythian is named at fullback.

Mitch Barnett also makes a switch to lock after playing all of his NRL matches in the second row last season, while Brock Lamb will be aiming to cement a Round 1 berth with his start at five-eighth this weekend.

The trial match will be streamed live on the Knights website from 6.30pm.


1. Dylan Phythian
2. Ken Sio
3. Dane Gagai
4. Peter Mata’utia
5. Nathan Ross
6. Brock Lamb
7. Trent Hodkinson
8. Daniel Saifiti
9. Danny Levi
10. Josh Starling
11. Sione Mata’utia
12. Jamie Buhrer
13. Mitch Barnett
14. Luke Yates
15. Jack Stockwell
16. Sam Stone
17. Lachlan Fitzgibbon
18. Brendan Elliot
19. Will Pearsall
22. Josh King
23. Jacob Saifiti
24. Chanel Mata’utia

Canberra's squad: Eddie Aiono, Blake Austin, Luke Bateman, Shannon Boyd, Adam Clydsdale, Nick Cotric, Lachlan Croker, Thomas Cronan, Shaun Fensom, Josh Hodgson, Edrick Lee, Joey Leilua, Jeff Lima, Dunamis Lui, Makahesi Makatoa, Mark McCormack, Anthony Moraitis, Brent Naden, Josh Papalii, Junior Paulo, Clay Priest, Jordan Rapana, Zac Santo, Aidan Sezer, Sia Soliola, Scott Sorensen, Joseph Tapine, Topi Taufa, Dave Taylor, Jordan Turner, Elliott Whitehead, Jack Wighton.


Date: Saturday February 18
Venue: Seiffert Oval, Queanbeyan
Kick-off: 6.30pm
Tickets: Click HERE