You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
"Photo: Paul Barkley / Melba Studios "

Newcastle Knights halfback Tyrone Roberts has been added to the Indigenous All Stars squad following an injury to Parramatta’s Chris Sandow.

After captaining the Knights last year against the First Nations Goannas, it will be the 23-year-old’s debut on the All Stars stage.

“I am really excited to be joining the Indigenous All Stars squad, it is going to be a good week on the Gold Coast and it is a privilege to be involved,” Roberts said this week.

While unsure of the role he will play in Friday night’s game at Cbus Super Stadium, it is the company he will keep that excites the young halfback.

“JT (Thurston) is a role model for me and it will be great to be in camp with him,” Roberts said.

“He sets the bar for the halves and I can’t wait to take some pointers and tips off him.”

The annual match between the NRL All Stars and Indigenous All Stars celebrates Indigenous culture.

“It is a very important game for us, a lot of Indigenous people watch the game and it brings us all together,” Roberts said.

“It will be like playing in the Koori Knockout, but it will be bigger.

“It is great awareness for the Indigenous culture and I can’t wait to get out there and represent my people.”

Roberts joins teammate Dane Gagai in the Indigenous squad and will play against NRL All Star representatives Beau Scott and Jeremy Smith. The four go into camp on the Gold Coast this Sunday.

Since the All Stars concept was introduced in 2010, profits from the match have been invested in Indigenous community programs including mentoring sessions, workshops, cultural activities, assistance with learning, behaviour and attendance, self-esteem, leadership, communication and social skills.


1. Greg Inglis (Rabbitohs), 2. Alex Johnston (Rabbitohs), 3. Will Chambers (Storm), 4. Justin Hodges (Broncos), 5. Josh Hoffman (Titans), 6. Ben Barba (Sharks), 7. Johnathan Thurston (Cowboys), 8. George Rose (Dragons), 9. Ray Thompson (Cowboys), 10. Ryan James (Titans), 11. Tyrone Peachey (Panthers), 12. Sam Thaiday (Broncos), 13. Greg Bird (Titans). Bench: 14. Tyrone Roberts (Knights), 15. Chris Grevsmuhl (Rabbitohs), 16. Dane Gagai (Knights), 17. Kyle Turner (Rabbitohs), 18. Jack Wighton (Raiders), 19. Kierran Moseley (Titans), 20. Brad Tighe (Titans).


1. Matt Moylan (Panthers), 2. Manu Vatuvei (Warriors), 3. Jarrod Croker (Raiders), 4. Dylan Walker (Rabbitohs), 5. Antonio Winterstein (Cowboys), 6. Kieran Foran (Sea Eagles), 7. Mitchell Pearce (Roosters), 8. James Graham (Bulldogs), 9. Nathan Friend (Warriors), 10. Jared Waerea-Hargreaves (Roosters), 11. Beau Scott (c) (Knights), 12. Jason Taumalolo (Cowboys), 13. Paul Gallen (Sharks), 14. Jesse Bromwich (Storm), 15. Luke Brooks (Tigers), 16. Joseph Paulo (Eels), 17. Trent Merrin (Dragons), 18. Corey Parker (Broncos), 19. Jeremy Smith (Knights), 20. Dave Taylor (Titans).

Tickets are available for the Harvey Norman Rugby League All Stars at