You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Newcastle Knights enforcer Beau Scott has won the Danny Buderus Medal, the Newcastle Knights’ Player of the Year Award. 

It caps off a memorable season for Scott, who was named in the 2014 Dally M Team of the Year, captained Country Origin, represented NSW in the winning State of Origin series and has been named in the Prime Minister’s XIII team to play the PNG Kumuls on October 12.

“In a tough season for the Club, Beau has had a wonderful year and we not only congratulate him on tonight’s award, but all of his successes this year,” Wayne Bennett said.

The Player of the Year Award, which was renamed the Danny Buderus Medal and awarded this year for the first time, is voted by the coaching staff.

Scott also won the Once a Knights Old Boys Gladiator Award, while Kurt Gidley was named the Players’ Player and Robbie Rochow the Clubman of the Year.

Concluding the NRL Awards, Sione Mata’utia was named Rookie of the Year while Beau Scott and Alex McKinnon won the Coach’s Award.

In other grades, emerging forward Paterika Vaivai won the NSW Cup’s Player of the Year and Sione Mata’utia added the NYC Player of the Year award to his standout season.

“We congratulate all of our award winners across the grades here tonight,” CEO Matt Gidley said.

“While season 2014 was a challenging one for the Club, we are looking forward to season 2015 with much anticipation.” 

For the first time at the Club’s Presentation event, three new members were inducted into the Newcastle Knights Hall of Fame. 

Danny Buderus, Tony Butterfield and Mark Sargent were inducted, joining Andrew Johns, Paul Harragon, Matt Gidley, Michael Hagan and Alan McMahon in the Club's Hall of Fame. 



NRL Player of the Year Award – Danny Buderus Medal: Beau Scott

NRL Players’ Player Award: Kurt Gidley

NRL Coach’s Award: Beau Scott and Alex McKinnon

Clubman of the Year Award: Robbie Rochow 

Once a Knight Old Boys Gladiator Award: Beau Scott

Rookie of the Year Award: Sione Mata’utia


NYC Player of the Year Award: Sione Mata’utia

NYC Players’ Player Award: Luke Yates

NYC Coach’s Award: Lachlan Fitzgibbon

NSW Cup:

NSW Cup Player of the Year Award: Paterika Vaivai

NSW Cup Players’ Player Award: Chad Redman

NSW Cup Coach’s Award: Tyler Randell


Danny Buderus, Tony Butterfield and Mark Sargent


Aurizon Volunteer of the Year Award: Lindy Hunt