You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
"Photo: Paul Barkley / Melba Studios "

NSW Cup coach Rick Stone has named a 19-man squad for Sunday’s preliminary final against the Illawarra Cutters at Leichhardt Oval.

The side, who resume after earning a week off, will be buoyed by the return of Chanel Mata’utia, Timana Tahu and Travis Waddell from NRL duties.

Mata’utia returns to the wing, with Brayden Wiliame shifting back into the centres. James Elias, who played in the centre in the qualifying final victory, is added to an extended bench.

Tahu is named in the second-row, replacing Noel Underwood, who drops out of the squad, while Waddell is named on a six-man.

After Sione and Chanel Mata’utia played against brother Peter Mata’utia in Round 26 of the NRL, now it is Chanel and Pat who play against Peter in Sunday’s preliminary final.


1. Nathan Ross
22. Josh Mantellato
3. Pat Mata’utia
4. Brayden Wiliame
5. Chanel Mata’utia
6. Matt Minto
7. Michael Dobson
8. Sam Mataora
9. Chad Redman
10. Pat Vaivai
11. Clint Newton
12. Timana Tahu
13. Matt Hilder (c)
14. Travis Waddell
15. Tyler Randell
16. Michael Steele
17. Brenton Horwood
25. James Elias
30. Toka Likiliki

Illawarra Cutters: 1. Kyle Eather, 2. Yaw Kiti Glymin, 3. Peter Mata'utia, 4. Charly Runciman, 5. Tyron Cranston, 6. Sam Duggan, 7. Drew Hutchison, 8. Shannon Wakeman, 9. Shane Pumipi, 10. Josh Ailaomai, 11. Will Matthews, 12. Junior Tia-Kilifi, 13. Kyle Stanley. Interchange: 14. Joel Johnson, 15. Willie Mataka, 17. Jeff Moate, 18. Rory O'Brien, 20. Geoff Daniela.

NSW Cup Preliminary Final
Newcastle Knights v Illawarra Cutters
Date: Sunday September 21
Kick off: 3.10pm
Venue: Leichhardt Oval