You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Manly v Knights Round 5 NRL Team List

nib Newcastle Knights Head Coach Adam O’Brien has named his squad for the Malcolm Reilly Trophy clash against traditional rivals Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles, 3pm this Saturday at Glen Willow Oval, Mudgee.

The trophy, named for Knights inaugural premiership winning Coach and back-to-back Manly premiership winner Malcolm Reilly, is contested in the first competition match played between the two sides each season.

Dane Gagai will celebrate another significant milestone when he makes his 250th NRL appearance in the match, after notching up 150 Knights games against the Dolphins in Round 3.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Newcastle Knights (@nrlknights)

Gagai is playing his 13th NRL season, having made his NRL debut for the Brisbane Broncos against the North Queensland Cowboys in Round 1, 2011 at Suncorp Stadium.

Bradman Best also plays his 50th NRL match, having debuted for the Knights in Round 23, 2019 just days after turning 18 and thus becoming eligible for selection in the best rugby league competition in the world.

Jack Johns has been named to start at lock Forward, replacing Kurt Mann who will miss the game due to mandatory concussion standown rules.

Simi Sasagi is also eligible to make a return from a shoulder injury following his inclusion in the extended squad.

See the team below:


1. Lachlan Miller - Hunter City Motor Group

2. Hymel Hunt - M&J Chickens

3. Dane Gagai - PalmerBet

4. Bradman Best - Sydney Direct Fresh Produce 

5. Greg Marzhew - PKF

6. Tyson Gamble - Taylor's Outdoor Power Equipment

7. Jackson Hastings - Triple M

8. Daniel Saifiti - Hunter Imaging 

9. Jayden Brailey (C) - East Coast Building and Pest

10. Leo Thompson - Mobile Mouthguards

11. Tyson Frizell - Balance Collective

12. Lachlan Fitzgibbon - The Wests Group 

13. Jack Johns - NBN


14. Phoenix Crossland - Greg Tapp Printing

15. Jack Hetherington - Guardian Safety Solutions

16. Mat Croker - Bella Group Services

17. Brodie Jones - Allara Learning

Extended Bench:

18. Dylan Lucas

19. Enari Tuala

20. Dominic Young

21. Simi Sasagi

22. Tom Cant