You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Knights celebrate NRLW, Jersey Flegg and HNWP high achievers

The nib Newcastle Knights have recognised the achievements of their champion Telstra Women’s Premiership team, Jersey Flegg Grand Final team, and Harvey Norman Women’s Premiership team at tonight’s season ending awards celebration at NEX, Newcastle. 

New Zealand representative centre Shanice Parker and breakout halfback Jesse Southwell were named joint winners of the night’s peak honour, the NRLW Player of the Year award, after both enjoyed stellar first NRLW seasons in red and blue.

Southwell was also named Rookie of the Year, adding that honour to the Dally M Rookie of the Year award she claimed during Grand Final week.

Karyn Murphy Medallist Tamika Upton and Australian representative backrower Yasmin Clydsdale received the ultimate accolade from their team-mates, sharing in the NRLW Player’s Player award, while hooker Olivia Higgins was recognised for her contribution to her hometown team by taking out head coach Ronald Griffiths’ Coaches Award.

In addition to recognising the contributions of players across the three teams, the event also saw the announcement of the Club’s highest non-playing honour – the Club Person of the Year.

This year’s award went to long-serving club contributor Paul Wallace, who was recognised for his tireless work at training and on game day across all grades, including stepping up to lead coordination of NRL Team training and logistics over the back half of the 2022 season.

NRLW and Harvey Norman Women’s Premiership front rower Caitlan Johnston capped off a massive 2022 season, taking out four awards.

Johnston completed a clean sweep of Harvey Norman Women’s Premiership awards, taking out both Player of the Year and Player’s Player, and was also named the winner of the NRLW Thrive Award for her commitment and contribution to the Club’s holistic player development program.

Her wholehearted performances over the course of the NRLW season also saw her named the winner of the esteemed Once A Knight Old Boy’s Gladiator of the Year, presented by new Knights Hall of Famer Steve Simpson.

Premiership-winning Co-Captain Millie Boyle completed the NRLW honours, taking out the Knights Community Player of the Year award for her work to develop and implement the Game Changer program for people living with a disability.

The Knights run to the Jersey Flegg decider was also celebrated, with Brock Greacen and James Johnson fitting recipients of Players Player honours.

Rounding out the awards, Grand Final standout Thomas Cant was recognised for his outstanding season by taking out the Jersey Flegg Player of the Year title.

nib Newcastle Knights Telstra Women’s Premiership, Jersey Flegg Cup and Harvey Norman Women’s Premiership Award Winners 2022

Thrive Award - Caitlan Johnston

Community Player of the Year - Millie Boyle

Gladiator of the Year - Caitlan Johnston

Rookie of the Year - Jesse Southwell

Club Person of the Year - Paul Wallace

Jersey Flegg Players’ Player - Brock Greacen & James Johnson

Jersey Flegg Player of the Year - Thomas Cant

Harvey Norman NSW Women’s Players’ Player - Caitlan Johnston

Harvey Norman NSW Women’s Player of the Year - Caitlan Johnston

NRLW Players’ Player - Tamika Upton & Yasmin Clydsdale

NRLW Player of the Year - Shanice Parker & Jesse Southwell