You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
2022 Premiers: Knights down Parramatta to earn historic NRLW title


Our nib Newcastle Knights NRLW side has been crowned 2022 Premiers after defeating the Parramatta Eels 32-12 at Accor Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

The victory caps a remarkable turnaround from the Club, after finishing last in the 2021 competition to champions in the next.

A brilliant first half which included three tries set up the victory.

After a few early errors, the Knights were forced to defend their own try-line in the opening 10 minutes.

Parramatta through multiple attacks at the side and broke the line through Brooke Anderson.

Newcastle showcased their trademark resilience to reverse the momentum and start their own attacks.

It wasn't long until we had our first of the Grand Final.

A jinking Tamika Upton broke her nose through to line to offload to Shanice Parker. The centre tipped on the ball to Kiana Takairangi, who made no mistake to get the Knights on the board.

Takairangi in the corner

The Knights hit the lead only three minutes later when Emmanita Paki dived over.

This time on the left, quick hands freed up the winger who darted her way over and planted the ball down.

Paki steps her way over

Newcastle were rolling through the middle and completing their sets.

Inspirational Captain, Millie Boyle, had a whopping 15 runs in the first half and was backed up by huge first half performances from Caitlan Johnston and Tayla Predebon.

It was all red and blue when Romy Teitzel dived over for our third of the afternoon.

On the 35th minute mark, halfback, Jesse Southwell went to the line and hit the forward with a brilliant short ball and Teitzel dived over next to the posts.

Silky Southwell sends Teitzel over

The Knights went into the sheds ahead 14-6.

Newcastle picked up where they left off in the first half dominating field position.

After setting up one try in the first half, Tamika got in on the action with one of her own.

The fullback showcased her trademark speed to sprint past an Eels defender and notch our fourth of the Grand Final.

The try also took Upton to outright first on the all-time try-scorer list in the NRLW.

Eels struck back through a try to Taufa.

However a late try to Takairangi confirmed the premiership win for the Knights.

Takairangi gets her second

Two late tries to Southwell and Clydsdale put the icing on the cake.

Southwell busts them open

Tamika Upton was awarded the Karyn Murphy Medal for woman of the match.

Let the celebrations begin

The result is the first NRLW title for the Club. Congratulations on an incredible season ladies!