You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Ponga and Gagai named in Maroons squad

Queensland Maroons Coach, Billy Slater, has named nib Newcastle Knights players, Kalyn Ponga and Dane Gagai, in the extended squad for Game I of State of Origin on June 8.

Ponga has played four games for the Maroons including a starring role in Queensland's Game III win over the Blues in 2021.

Dane Gagai is also experienced in the Origin arena having played 19 games for the Maroons since 2015 and previously picked up the Wally Lewis Medal for player of the series in 2017.

The match will be played at ANZ Stadium on Wednesday week.

Queensland Maroons Game I squad

1. Kalyn Ponga - Newcastle Knights

2. Selwyn Cobbo - Brisbane Broncos

3. Valentine Holmes - North Queensland Cowboys

4. Dane Gagai - Newcastle Knights

5. Xavier Coates - Melbourne Storm

6. Cameron Munster - Melbourne Storm

7. Daly Cherry-Evans - Manly Sea Eagles

8. Tino Fa'asuamaleaui - Gold Coast Titans

9. Ben Hunt - St George Illawarra Dragons

10. Josh Papalii - Canberra Raiders

11. Kurt Capewell - Brisbane Broncos

12. Felise Kaufusi - Melbourne Storm

13. Reuben Cotter - North Queensland Cowboys

14. Harry Grant - Melbourne Storm

15. Lindsay Collins - Sydney Roosters

16. Patrick Carrigan - Brisbane Broncos

17. Jeremiah Nanai - North Queensland Cowboys

18. Tom Dearden - North Queensland Cowboys

19. Jai Arrow - South Sydney Rabbitohs

20. Thomas Flegler - Brisbane Broncos

21. Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow - North Queensland Cowboys

22. Murray Taulagi - North Queensland Cowboys