You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Panthers v Knights Round 3 NRL team list

nib Newcastle Knights NRL Head Coach, Adam O'Brien, has named his 24-man squad for Saturday afternoon's clash with the Penrith Panthers at Carrington Park, Bathurst.

Team Captain, Kalyn Ponga, returns to the line-up after missing the Round 2 win over the Wests Tigers with a knee injury.

The fullback is joined by NSW Origin representative forward, Daniel Saifiti, who makes his return from injury in the front-row.

David Klemmer and Lachlan Fitzgibbon come out of the side with Klemmer set to have surgery on an injured knee.

Fitzgibbon will see a surgeon for a suspected MCL tear to his knee to determine the extent of his injury sustained during the win over the Tigers.

Recovery Report: Klemmer and Ponga updates

After his first win in the NRL and a strong performance off the bench, Mat Croker retains his spot in the side while Brodie Jones is out after testing positive to COVID-19.

Sauaso Sue and Edrick Lee have been named on the extended bench.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Newcastle Knights (@nrlknights)

Sue has overcome off-season shoulder surgery while Lee made his long-awaited and triumphant return to the field in Monday's NSW Cup win over the Western Suburbs Magpies.

This round will also launch the inaugural NRL Multicultural Round celebrating the diverse cultural heritage of every player, participant, staff member and fan in the rugby league community. 

See the team below:


1. Kalyn Ponga (C) - Hunter Imaging

2. Dominic Young - Wests Group

3. Dane Gagai - Allara Learning

4. Bradman Best - NBN News

5. Enari Tuala - Taylors Outdoor Power Equipment

6. Jake Clifford - Sydney Direct Fresh Produce

7. Adam Clune - Guardian Safety Solutions

8. Jacob Saifiti - M&J Chickens

9. Chris Randall - Century 21 Novocastrian

10. Daniel Saifiti - Brydens Lawyers

11. Tyson Frizell - Greg Tapp Printing 

12. Mitch Barnett - East Coast Building & Pest Services

13. Kurt Mann - A Plus Contracting


14. Phoenix Crossland - Palmerbet

15. Jirah Momoisea - Wests Group

16. Leo Thompson - Accolade Wines

17. Mathew Croker - Triple M

Extended Bench:

18. Simi Sasagi

19. Tex Hoy

20. Edrick Lee

21. Sauaso Sue

22. Dylan Lucas

23. Brayden Musgrove

24. Jaron Purcell