You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
King nominated for Ken Stephen Medal

nib Newcastle Knights forward Josh King has been nominated for the prestigious Ken Stephen Medal for his tireless work in the community.

Last taken out by team mate Connor Watson, King has been nominated off the back of a busy year of community work which has included strong commitments to a variety of the Club's programs.

King has actively maintained his connection to the mining community, visiting sites to promote resilience, teamwork and commitment while encouraging apprentices to persevere in their chosen profession.

Since 2019, King has been an 'Adopted Knight' at Edgeworth Public School and Ashtonfield Public School as part of the Club's Adopt a School Program. His friendly nature, leadership skills and professionalism make him a popular asset in each school community.

Josh maintains a strong commitment to the John Hunter Children's Hospital. He visits the hospital each month and ensures he lifts the spirits of the children and their families. Throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, King remained in regular contact with the children. He visited bedsides virtually through an iPad, ensuring the positive connections and relationships with the children were maintained.

Under his leadership and encouragement, 29 players attended the hospital's 2020 Christmas Party despite the party falling on a rostered day off for the squad.

Fans can lend their support to Josh by voting for him via the link below.


The Ken Stephen Medal recognises the efforts of an NRL player who has not only achieved on the field, but has committed time off the field to community projects.

A player is nominated by their NRL club for going above and beyond in their involvement in charity work, youth development or community support. The nominated player will have consistently demonstrated their commitment to making a difference in their community and be seen as a role model in this area at their NRL club.

This year will be the 33rd instance that the Ken Stephen Medal will be awarded, with a host of worthy recipients receiving this prestigious award since Wayne Pearce won the inaugural medal in 1988, including Ryan James, Joel Thompson, Jonathan Thurston and Nathan Hindmarsh.