You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Knights junior representative pathway success

The 2019 season was a successful one for the nib Newcastle Knights junior representative teams, with both the Harold Matthews and Tarsha Gale Cup squads reaching their respective Grand Finals.

The Harold Matthews side dominated throughout the regular season, finishing minor premiers at the end of the nine rounds.

The Tarsha Gale squad also performed well, only missing out on the minor premiership on for and against.

Bankwest Stadium provided the perfect backdrop for Grand Final Day, with the ground bathed in the early-May Parramatta sunshine.

The two teams experienced mixed results, with the Tarsha Gale girls going down 24-12 to Illawarra despite an admiral performance, with Caitlan Johnston putting in a huge performance in a losing side.

The Harold Matthews side experienced much better fortune, bringing the trophy home for the second time in three years with a powerful 28-8 win over the Canterbury Bulldogs.

The SG Ball team were not quite as successful as previous seasons, experiencing measured success. Their individual development was not hampered by the team’s results, with two players selected in the NSW under 18s Origin squad and a further two making the Australian Schoolboys.

The Knights continued their participation in Country Rugby League competitions, fielding teams in both the under 16s Andrew Johns Cup and under 18s Laurie Daley Cup.

Both sides had their challenges throughout the season, however the strong pathway from these teams to both the Harold Matthews and SG Ball squads was proven with a number of players earning promotion.

On behalf of the Newcastle Knights, we would like to congratulate all volunteer staff, parents and players for making 2019 a year to remember. 

We wish to thank the Newcastle Rugby League, Newcastle Juniors, Maitland Juniors, Group 21, Group 3 and Central Coast Juniors for their participation and support throughout the year.

Junior Presentation Award Winners

Tarsha Gale Coaches Award:

Olivia Kernick (Wyong Roos)

Tarsha Gale Players’ Player:

Joeli Morris (Wyong Roos)

Tarsha Gale Player of the Year:

Joeli Morris (Wyong Roos)

Harold Matthews Grand Final Man of the Match:

Max Bradbury (Wests Newcastle)

Harold Matthews Coaches Award:

Chris Vea’ila (Newcastle Knights)

Harold Matthews Players’ Player:

Max Bradbury (Wests Newcastle)

Harold Matthews Player of the Year:

Lachlan Crouch (East Maitland Griffins)

SG Ball Coaches Award:

Trentham Petersen (Wests Newcastle)

SG Ball Players’ Player:

Christian Ma’anaima (Wests Newcastle)

SG Ball Player of the Year:

Malie-J Townsend (Wyong Roos)

Danny Buderus Award:

Lachlan Crouch (East Maitland Griffins)

Carlson Club & Andrew Johns Medal:

Malie-J Townsend (Wyong Roos)

New South Wales State of Origin u18s Squad:

Mitch Black

Bradman Best

New South Wales State of Origin u16s Squad:

Max Bradbury

Lachlan Crouch

Jonah Pezet

Noah Nailagoliva

Fletcher Myers

Noah Reed

Oryn Keeley

New South Wales Women’s State of Origin u18s Squad:

Joeli Morris

Olivia Kernick

Caitlan Johnston

Australian Prime Minister’s XIII Womens Team:

Caitlan Johnston

Secondary Schools Representatives:


Mitch Black (18s)

Cooper Jenkins (18s)

NSW Combined High School:

Kobe Davies (18s)

Harry Croker (18s)

NSW Combined Catholic Colleges:

Mitch Black (18s)

NSW Combined Independent Colleges:

Cooper Jenkins (18s)