You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Connor Watson nominated for 2019 Ken Stephen Medal

Connor Watson is among some of the game’s biggest names to be nominated by their clubs for the 2019 Ken Stephen Medal.

The 2019 Ken Stephen Medallist will be announced during Grand Final week, with voting now open on providing fans the opportunity to select the nominee they feel deserves to be a finalist.


The player with the highest number of votes will be included as one of four finalists announced next month.

Three other player finalists will be voted via a panel of judges from across the game’s administration.

This is the 31st year of the Ken Stephen Medal, with the award recognising the efforts of an NRL player who has not only achieved on the field but has committed time off the field to supporting community projects.

NRL Head of Government and Community Relations, Jaymes Boland-Rudder said this year’s Ken Stephen Medal nominees showcased a glimpse of a majority of NRL players that privately support community and charitable initiatives throughout the year.

“Each of the nominees have had wonderful seasons to date and are to be congratulated for focusing their efforts off the field in a range of positive ways, ultimately benefiting their local communities,” Mr Boland-Rudder said.

“Regardless of the final award, I thank these nominees – and many more – for their support of the NRL, club and personal community programs throughout the year.”

Fan voting is open on the NRL’s community page on through to 9am on Monday 19 August.

For more information about the Ken Stephen Medal, click here.

The 2019 Ken Stephen Medal nominees are: 

Andrew McCullough – Brisbane Broncos

Sia Soliola – Canberra Raiders

Adam Elliot – Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs

Josh Dugan – Cronulla Sharks

Michael Gordon – Gold Coast Titans

Joel Thompson – Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles

Josh Addo-Carr – Melbourne Storm

Connor Watson – Newcastle Knights

Gavin Cooper – North Queensland Cowboys

Nathan Brown – Parramatta Eels

Frank Winterstein – Penrith Panthers

Corey Norman – St George-Illawarra Dragons

James Tedesco – Sydney Roosters

Agnatius Paasi – New Zealand Warriors

Josh Aloiai – Wests Tigers