You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Name - Newcastle Knights Awards Night 2017
Location - West Leagues City, Newcastle
Date - Thursday 7 September 2017
Image - Shane Myers ©NRL Photos 2017

Newcastle Knights forward Mitch Barnett has won the Danny Buderus Medal, the nib Newcastle Knights’ Player of the Year Award.

23-year-old Barnett, who joined the Knights midway through last season, played 22 NRL matches this season and scored four tries.

“There is no doubt Mitch is a player that other players want to play with,” coach Nathan Brown said.

“He is tough, he competes hard and he has plenty of skill, and winning the Danny Buderus Medal is a reward for his consistency.”  

Barnett also won the Gladiator of the Year award, while young forward Daniel Saifiti was named the Players’ Player and Rory Kostjasyn the Club Person of the Year.

Concluding the NRL awards, Brock Lamb was named Rookie of the Year, Trent Hodkinson the Community Player of the Year while Jamie Buhrer won the Coach’s Award.

In other grades, Nick Meaney capped off a stellar season winning ISP’s Player of the Year and Under 20s captain Zac Hosking was named NYC Player of the Year.

“We congratulate all of our award winners across our three grades and thank each and every player for their contribution to the Club this season,” CEO Matt Gidley said.

“We now look forward to next season, where our young players will be better for another season in the NRL while we welcome a number of new recruits to the Club.”

The evening also included a formal farewell to the Club’s departing players, including retirees Rory Kostjasyn and Anthony Tupou as well as Dane Gagai, who will join South Sydney next season.

The Club thanked Mickey Paea, Tyler Randell, Joe Wardle, Jack Stockwell, Jaelen Feeney, David Bhana, Pauli Pauli, Josh Starling, Sam Mataora and Will Pearsall for their contribution to the Club and wished them well for the future.

The Danny Buderus Medal Awards Night was held on Thursday night at Wests City.


NRL Player of the Year – Mitch Barnett
NRL Players’ Player – Daniel Saifiti
NRL Coach’s Award – Jamie Buhrer
Club Person of the Year – Rory Kostjasyn
Community Player of the Year – Trent Hodkinson
Gladiator of the Year – Mitch Barnett
Rookie of the Year – Brock Lamb


ISP Player of the Year – Nick Meaney
ISP Players’ Player – Tom Hughes
ISP Coach’s Award – Braden Robson


NYC Player of the Year – Zac Hosking
NYC Players’ Player – Matt Cooper
NYC Coach's Award - Heath Gibbs