You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Competition - ISP. Round - Round 19. Teams - Newcastle Knights v Blacktown Workers - 15th of July 2017. Venue - McDonald Jones Stadium, NSW. Photographer - Paul Barkley | © NRL Photos

The Reserve Grade Newcastle Knights recorded a 22-12 victory over the Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles at McDonald Jones Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

Blacktown came out strong in the first half to lead by eight points but the Knights staged a comeback in the second stanza, piling on 18-unanswered points.

The first points of the match came via Blacktown forward Joey Lussick in the ninth minute. Jackson Hastings was successful with the conversion for the visitors to lead 6-0.

Knights winger Thomas Cronan almost scored their first in the right corner but had a foot over the side line before the Workers’ Keleni Tanginoa charged over 22 minutes in for their second. Blacktown led 12-0.

In the 30th minute, a leaping Tom Hughes gathered a high kick from Will Pearsall to wrestle his way to the line. Bryce Donovan was unable to make the conversion.

The Knights trailed 12-4 at the half time break.

In the second half, after more than 20 minutes went by scoreless, the Knights’ Braden Robson found a gap to score in the 65th minute. Pearsall was successful with the conversion to close the gap, 12-10 to the Workers.

Not long after, Faitotoa Faitotoa picked up the crumbs ten metres from the line to weave his way over and put the Knights in front 16-12.

In the 75th minute, fullback Nick Meaney dished off to forward Pasami Saulo for his first try in Reserve Grade this season. Donovan nailed the conversion to stretch their lead to 22-12 and secure the win.


Newcastle Knights 22 (T: Hughes, Robson, Faitotoa, Saulo, G: Donovan 1/2, Pearsall 2/2)
Blacktown Workers 12 (T: Lussick, Tanginoa, G: Hastings 2/2)



1. Nick Meaney, 2. Tom Hughes, 3. Jacob Gagan, 4. Bryce Donovan, 5. Thomas Cronan, 6. Will Pearsall, 7. Jack Cogger, 23. Luke Yates, 9. Tyler Randell, 10. Jack Stockwell, 15. Bradie Smith, 12. Braden Robson, 13. Tyrone Amey. Interchange: 16. Pat Mata’utia, 17. Pasami Saulo, 18. Faitotoa Faitotoa, 20. Sam Bernstrom.


1.Viliami Kaveinga, 2. Maliko Filino, 22. Patrick Mataele, 4. Jonathan Wright, 5. Peter Schuster, 6. Pita Godinet, 7. Jackson Hastings, 8. Kelepi Tanginoa, 9. Joey Lussick, 10. Taealoaloa Amone, 11. Brendan Attwood, 12. Jarrad Kennedy, 13. Jamil Hopoate. Interchange. 15. Tyler Cassel, 16. Evrett Vaurasi, 17. Jordan Hall, 18. Dean Parata, 20. James Tuitahi.