You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The NYC Newcastle Knights were beaten 26-16 by the St George Illawarra Dragons at Jubilee Oval on Saturday afternoon to finish of the 2016 season.

It didn’t take long for the home side get over the white line, captain Patrick Herbert receiving a short pass to score in the fourth minute. Jai Field missed his conversion, and it didn’t take long for the Knights to get onto the front foot after that, with good work from Kainoa Gudgeon and Heath Gibbs producing an 80 metre set.

Following several penalties back rower Sam Stone scored for the Knights in the 14th minute, Newman missing the conversion.

Four minutes later the Knights were over again as Ryan Glanville grounded a short range grubber beneath the posts.

Eight minutes later fullback Nick Meaney stopped a certain Dragons try to Matheson Johns, hauling the winger out of play 10 metres short of the line.

With 30 minutes on the clock the Knights couldn’t repeat their defensive heroics though, as Gudgeon let a bomb bounce and Herbert collected it to put five-eighth Field through for a try beneath the posts.

Two minutes later Cooper Purcell received an offload ten metres out to get over the line for the Dragons. Field missed the conversion to make the half time score 14-10, but four minutes into the second period the Dragons were over again via winger Paora Kemp.

The Knights needed to be the next to score, but with 28 minutes left to play the Dragons were over again via Kemp, the winger stripping Gudgeon of the ball in the air to tumble over the line. Field again missed his conversion, but the score was still 12 points in favour of the home side.

Soon after Kemp completed his hat-trick thanks to some strong build up play from his inside men, but the Knights got the final say of the match when Jamayne Taunoa-Brown scored from dummy-half in the 78th minute.

Newman converted to make the final score 26-16.


Knights 16 (T: Stone, Glanville, Taunoa-Brown G: Newman 2/3)

Dragons 26 (T: Herbert, Field, Purcell, Kemp 3, G: Field 1/6)


1. Nick Meaney, 2. Kainoa Gudgeon, 3. Cory Denniss, 15. Heath Gibbs, 5. Matthew Soper-Lawler, 6. Nick Newman. 7. Hayden Herbert, 8. Jamayne Taunoa-Brown, 14 Joe Morris, 10. Jayden Butterfield, 11. Zac Hosking, 12. Sam Stone, 17. Ryan Glanville. Interchange: 9. Tom Starling, 16. Cameron King, 18. Eddy Tuilotolava, 20. Jordan Pinnock.