You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Newcastle Knights Dane Gagai and Trent Hodkinson have been selected to represent in the Indigenous All Stars and World All Stars teams respectively.

Coaches Laurie Daley and Wayne Bennett unveiled the Indigenous All Stars and World All Stars teams in Brisbane on Tuesday ahead of the sixth Harvey Norman Rugby League All Stars match next year.

After being selected in the Indigenous All Stars side and experiencing the excitment of the match played earlier this year, Gagai is thrilled to be offered the opportunity to take part again in 2016.

“The biggest thing I enjoyed was the build up into the game, spending time with all the boys and in the community,” Gagai said.

“It was just a fun week leading up into the week.”

“Being able to go out and represent our people and to be able to do it alongside my cousin, Josh Hoffman was a great privilege."

Meanwhile, Hodkinson looks forward to being involved in the All Stars match for the first time.

“I’ve been watching at home the last few times and it looks like a nice quality match with a lot of great players,” Hodkinson said.

“It’s a privilege. I only just found out and it’s a shock. I’m very happy."

In 2016, the World All Stars concept has been introduced with the team featuring players from Australia, New Zealand and England, while the remaining players made up from other nations like Fiji, Samoa, Tonga, PNG and France. 

“I think it’s great and getting more players involved from different regions,” he said about the change. 

“I haven’t been involved before, so I'm definitely looking forward to it.

“I’ve spoken to a few guys in the past who have been involved and they said it’s a great week where you do a lot of things for the whole community.

“I’m looking forward to that side of things.”

Hodkinson is also eager for the challenge of facing up against his teammate in the highly anticipated match played in Brisbane. 

“It’s always tough, but it’s a bit of fun going up against a teammate. He deserves it, he's been there before and is a tremendous player,” he said. 

The match will be held at Suncorp Stadium on Saturday February 13 and will officially herald the start of the Australian rugby league calendar for season 2016.

Indigenous All Stars:

1. Greg Inglis
2. Alex Johnston
3. Will Chambers
4. Blake Ferguson
5. Dane Gagai
6. Ben Barba
7. Johnathan Thurston 
8. Ryan James
9. Nathan Peats
10. Sam Thaiday
11. Greg Bird
12. Joel Thompson
13. Chris Grevsmuhl
14. Andrew Fifita
15. Wade Graham 
16. Tyrone Peachey
17. James Roberts
18. Tyrone Roberts
19. Ray Thompson
20 Jack Wighton

World All Stars:

1. Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
2. Semi Radradra
3. Jarrod Croker
4. Josh Morris
5. Antonio Winterstein
6. Gareth Widdop
7. Trent Hodkinson
8. James Graham
9. Cameron Smith (c)
10. Paul Gallen
11. Tyson Frizell
12. Simon Mannering
13. Sam Burgess
14. Tom Burgess
15. Kane Evans
16. Robbie Farah
17. Lachlan Maranta
18. Nene McDonald
19. Trent Merrin
20. Martin Taupau