You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Captains pose for a team photo. NRL Auckland Nines Festival and Fan Zone, Aotea Square, Auckland, New Zealand. Zealand. Friday 30 January 2015. Copyright Photo: Andrew Cornaga/

The Newcastle Knights play against the St George Illawarra Dragons on Saturday at Eden Park, before taking on the Parramatta Eels in the afternoon.

On day two of the tournament, the Knights face Manly at 11.35am local time, 9.35am AEDT.

Saturday January 31

12.55pm (NZ) / 10.55am (AEST) - Game 1 v St George
4.25pm (NZ) / 2.25pm (AEST) - Game 2 v Parramatta

Sunday February 1

11.35am (NZ) / 9.35am (AEST) - Game 3 v Manly


1. Sione Mata'utia, 2. Jake Mamo, 3. Dane Gagai, 4. Chanel Mata'utia, 5. Carlos Tuimavave, 6. Jarrod Mullen (c), 7. Tyrone Roberts, 8. Pat Mata'utia, 9. Adam Clydsdale, 10. Paterika Vaivai, 11. Tyler Randell, 12. Chris Houston, 13. Robbie Rochow, 14.Nathan Ross, 15. Korbin Sims, 16. Joseph Tapine, 17. Jack Stockwell, 18. Danny Levi.

Final teams are announced 50 minutes before kick off.


The Knights has been grouped in the Rangitoto pool, and will play the Parramatta Eels, Manly Sea Eagles and St George Illawarra Dragons at the Eden Park tournament.


· Each matches is played over two nine-minute halves with a two-minute half-time break.

· Each team must nominate a team of 14 players per match (from an 18-man squad) with five players on the bench and unlimited interchange, but a maximum of two at any time.

· The matches are played under a five-tackle rule rather than the six-tackle rule that applies in the NRL.

· Scrums are only formed if there is a double knock-on, in all other circumstances play will restart with a handover. A maximum of five players per team can form a scrum.

· Tries will earn the normal four points however tries scored in the ‘bonus zone’ under the goalposts will earn five points.

· All conversions and penalty kicks at goal are taken by drop-kick and are worth two points. A field goal is worth one point. A shot-clock applies to conversion kicks, with 25 seconds allowed to convert a try (to when the boot connects with the ball).

· The kick-off to each half is completed by a place kick, but after any other score by drop-kick by the scoring team.

· The sin bin rule applies with players binned for a maximum of three minutes.

· A golden-try extra-period is activated if the scores are locked after regulation time. The team that scores the next try is declared the winner. If the score is unchanged after five minutes of extra-time in pool matches, the match will be declared a draw. However, in finals games play will continue until a try is scored.

· Two points are awarded for a win and one point for a draw

· Teams are split into four groups of four. The top two teams in each group progress to the quarter-finals.


#goKnights and #NRL9s