You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
2014 season

Newcastle Knights forward Robbie Rochow has been announced as one of the finalists in the running to win the prestigious Ken Stephen Medal presented by Telstra for their work in the community.

Rochow has dedicated his time to using his profile in the NRL to serving the community. He has taken on his role as an ambassador for SIDS and Kids Hunter Region with great enthusiasm. Rochow has also dedicated countless hours to attending local club skills clinics, charity events, hospital visits and work with the Newcastle Knights community outreach programs. 

“I’m so privileged to be able to play Rugby League at the elite level. I feel it is only right that I use this position to give back to the community,” Rochow said.

“I want to be a role model for kids coming up the ranks that balancing an education with sporting commitments is not only possible, but extremely worthwhile.”

This year’s nominees have been involved in everything from establishing programs supporting professional athletes studying at university to dedicating countless hours to children’s literacy programs and striving to stamp out bullying in schools across the country.

Members of the public can make a difference by voting for the player they feel is most deserving of such the medal voting at:

Voting is live to the public from midday Monday, 1 September until midnight on Wednesday, 10 September.

The Ken Stephen Medal is named after the NSWRL administrator who dedicated 28 years of service to the game.

Finalists for 2014 Ken Stephen Medal presented by Telstra are:

Brisbane Broncos - Josh McGuire
Canberra Raiders - Joel Edwards
Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs - Trent Hodkinson
Cronulla Sharks - Michael Gordon
Gold Coast Titans - Ryan James
North Queensland Cowboys - Gavin Cooper
Manly - Brenton Lawrence
Melbourn Storm - Matt Duffie
Newcastle Knights - Robbie Rochow
New Zealand Warriors - Manu Vatuvei
Parramatta Eels - Ben Smith
Penrith Panthers - Nigel Plum
St George Illawarra Dragons - Ben Creagh
Sydney Roosters - Anthony Minichiello
West Tigers - Dene Halatau

The medal has been won by Rugby League legends including Wayne Pearce, Paul Harragon, Nathan Hindmarsh, Hazem El Masri, David Peachey, Preston Campbell and Johnathan Thurston, to name a few.

NRL Head of Community, Adam Check, said players and One Community Ambassadors spent more than 30,000 hours working in their communities last year.

“We know clubs already dedicate a significant amount of time to the community but the nominees for the Ken Stephen Medal go above and beyond the call of duty - they are role models of the game,” he said.

“The NRL One Community Awards are also about recognising the contribution made by people in all areas of the game who work tirelessly to make Rugby League such a strong and diverse game.”

The winner will be announced at the One Community Awards held at Sydney’s Carriageworks on Thursday, 25 September.  The NRL will recognise the community work made, not only by the players, but also local heroes from across the community.