Skip to main content
Main content

All five Hall of Fame members have made immeasurable contributions to the Newcastle Knights Rugby League Club in their roles as players, coaches and/or administrators.

Gidley, a local Newcastle product, wore the red and blue on 221 occasions and was a key member of the Knights’ Grand Final winning team in 2001. A powerful and skilled centre, Gidley scored 68 tries for his hometown Club. Gidley is also the Knights’ current CEO of the Club.

Hagan, a clever five-eighth, played for Newcastle 111 times between 1989 and 1993 and was an integral part in building the Club culture in the early days of the Knights. Hagan took over the coaching reigns at his former Club in 2001. He guided the Knights to a Grand Final victory in his first season in charge and was at the helm of the Club for 154 matches between 2001 and 2006.

Harragon played a total of 169 matches during a sensational career for his hometown Club. The heroic prop’s crowning glory in the red and blue was captaining the Knights to the 1997 Premiership, where they defeated the Manly Sea Eagles 22-16 in a dramatic Grand Final. 

Arguably one of the greatest players of all time, Johns played for the Knights a record 249 times and still holds the Club record for most career points with 2,176. Johns was a standout performer in the Club’s two Premiership wins in 1997 and 2001 and was awarded the Clive Churchill Medal for man-of-the-match in the 2001 Grand Final.

McMahon was the Knights’ coach during their inaugural season in 1988 was in charge of the Club for 83 games. McMahon built a team full of local junior talent and instilled a set of standards that the Club has continued to build upon. He laid the foundations for the proud and passionate culture that still resonates throughout the Club today.

Buderus captained Newcastle, NSW and Australia, won the 2001 NRL premiership with the Knights and in 2004 won the Dally M Medal as rugby league’s best and fairest player. Returning to the Knights in 2012 for a second stint after three years in England with Leeds Rhinos, Buderus retired at the end of 2013 as the most capped player in Knights history with 257 games to his name in an NRL career that spanned 14 seasons.

Butterfield established as one of the most relentless and tough forwards Club’s formative early years. Overcoming a series of injuries early in his career, the flint-hard front-rower went on to partner prop Paul Harragon in the team’s famous ARL grand final victory over Manly in 1997, and represented NSW and City Origin while wearing blue and red. A two-time Player of the Year (1988, 1996) and Players’ Player of the Year (1996, 1997), and member of the Club’s 20-Year Team named in 1997, he captained the Knights in his final two seasons and went within a game of leading them to the 2000 grand final.

The skillful, mobile prop became the Club’s first Australian Test representative when he toured with the 1990 Kangaroos, then in 1992 returned to England at the end of the season with Australia’s triumphant World Cup squad. A NSW, City and Country representative, Sargent played 126 games in seven seasons with the Knights and in 1997 was named as a member of the Club’s 20-Year Team. Sargent succeeded great mate Michael Hagan as captain in 1994, continuing in that role until a knee injury prematurely ended his Knights playing career midway through 1995.


The Newcastle Knights announced the launch of the Newcastle Knights Aggreko Hall of Fame as the cornerstone of the Club's 25th year celebrations.

The Knights newly formed Advisory Board felt the formation of a Hall of Fame was an appropriate way to celebrate the Club's 25 year history which has featured premiership wins in 1997 and 2001.

The key objectives of the Hall of Fame were to acknowledge former greats of the Club and their contribution to the Knights both on and of the field in a region so rich in rugby league culture.

The Hall of Fame is supported by the Newcastle Herald and NBN, which provided an opportunity for the Knights huge supporter base to contribute with their vote on the top 25 players in its first year.

These top 25 players were announced to coincide with the Knights opening game of the Club's 25th year against the St George Illawarra Dragons on March 1, 2012.

The selection panel then reduced the list to a top 10 which was announced on Friday Match 16, 2012 at the Knights game against the Brisbane Broncos.

The Knights held a Hall of Fame and 25 year anniversary dinner on April 4, 2012 where five founding members were inducted into the Hall of Fame.

To be eligible for nomination players and coaches must be retired.

The Hall of Fame selection committee will nominate up to two inductees each year.

Michael HILL (committee spokesman)
Long-serving former Knights chairman, former NSW Sheffield Shield cricketer, retired solicitor, who along with fellow Hall of Fame selection committee member Leigh Maughan led the push for Newcastle's inclusion in the NSW Rugby League premiership.

Knights founding father, former marketing manager and club director, outspoken former television and radio sports commentator for NBN and most Newcastle radio stations, passionate Knights supporter.

Allan BELL
Foundation coaching director at the Knights alongside inaugural coach Allan McMahon, and his successor David Waite. Former assistant coach to Warren Ryan at Newtown and long-time confidant of four-time premiership-winning Wests Tigers and former Canberra Raiders coach Tim Sheens.

Newcastle Herald Rugby League and Sports Reporter who has covered the Knights for the Herald since 1992, including the premiership-winning years of 1997 and 2001 and all the highs and lows.

The face of TV sport in Newcastle. Long-time NBN Televison sports presenter, commentator and marketing manager, who used to call every Knights home game for NBN.